PRCA 3334 Social Media and PR

I truly believe that social media is very important for all organizations. Social Media is the make or break of an organization’s reputation. Being that social media is  so heavily used, you would think that companies would try to be more cautious what they do and say on social media. I believe that everything is seen first by the newer generation on social media: death, wedding engagement, fights,etc. Being that social media such as Facebook and Twitter has not been around that long, it’s incredibly mind-blowing to see how users flock to different social mediums.

I believe that social media can used in public relations campaigns and public relations efforts. Companies can  inform their customers/followers of new items they will be releasing. Posting on Instagram ; showing a picture of the item that are about to release would spark the attention they would want from their audience.  A lot of individuals are visual , and by displaying a picture with a catchy hashtag is a great way to  market a new item. Even if you want to  interact with your customer/followers it’s important to vocal  and visible on social media. In my opinion, public relations is all about creating  ways to communicate with your audiences. Social media has to be one of the new ways to communicate with audience.

As far as keeping my Twitter page active after the class ends , I would have to say I would.  Twitter has given me a new medium to enjoy. I was a heavy Facebook and Instagram user , but now I have to say I see myself on Twitter just as much as the other two social media sites.

 

Leave a comment